Norwegian 2012 and language plans for 2013

Happy New Year!

It’s been a while since I posted on this blog, as December was packed with exams, essays, last-minute homework, Christmas, and the end of the year. Hence, I have not managed to do a lot of language learning in the past few weeks. Consequently, I did not reach my goal of acquiring C2 fluency in Norwegian, but that’s OK for me. Since the beginning, I have said that it is merely a challenge, not a promise – a way to motivate myself to learn a language on my own. In addition, it was my first language challenge, so I had no idea what I was facing when I started. Initially, I felt guilty, but when I realised I would have stopped blogging on Norwegian if I had succeeded, I felt slightly relieved. The truth is: I am not prepared to distance myself from the language yet. Where it was just a language I was experimenting with at first, it is now a language I love and the language of a country where I would like to go again, again, and again. There is much more to language learning than mastering grammar, learning words, and struggling to pronounce it correctly. It is about culture, knowing when to use which words, and being able to talk about the topics which native speakers talk about regularly. General fluency is not sufficient for me. Therefore, I do not wish to stop the process of learning Norwegian and I will continue it in 2013. My new goal is to simply reach C1 or C2 level as soon as possible. I am at B1 level now, so much closer to my aim than I was in January 2012. I assume this will turn out to be an advantage.

In addition, I am going to start on a new language at the end of the month: French. I feel that I have gained enough fluency in Norwegian to be able to study two languages simultaneously. I am planning on taking a French course at university. This is another reason why I am starting with French so early. If all goes well, I will graduate in July. If so, I will not get another chance to do such a course. Since other students have told me that the lessons are very useful and interesting, I feel that I should take this last opportunity. The course should bring me towards B1 level in twelve weeks. After this, I will decide on where I want to go next: nowhere, B2, C1, or C2. It will depend on my progress with Norwegian.

In short, my goals for 2013 are as follows:

  • Norwegian: to reach/come nearer to C1 or C2 level.
  • French: to get to B1 or higher.
Leave a Reply

