Subchallenge Stein på stein: completed

Source: www.cappelendammundervisning.no

Stein på stein

I have completed another one of the subchallenges I set myself for Norwegian. Finally, I have finished the course book Stein på stein.

What have I learned?

A lot of vocabulary, mainly, as I only used the text book. However, I have also picked up some idiomatic expressions. I read texts on various topics, such as jobs, family, everyday life, economics, health, the media, education, the history of Norway, immigration, emigration, Norwegian fairy tales, and human rights.

Book review

Like the previous course book I used (Ny i Norge), Stein på stein is a monolingual course book. Hence, using it did not feel like cheating, the more so because it solely contained texts and no grammar. Until the seventh chapter, however, I did not enjoy it much. The texts were slighly boring. This affected my concentration and, therefore, it slowed down the learning process. From chapter seven onwards, the texts became more fun to read. I suppose the reason was that they focussed more on Norway – the previous texts had been much more general. Hence, I assume I picked up more new words and expressions while reading the second half of the book.
I cannot provide a more detailed review, sadly, as I only used the text book. There is a workbook and a wordlist as well. Perhaps, these would have added more fun to the learning sessions. I usually do not enjoy using such materials for language learning, however, as I prefer the natural way. Consequently, I did not borrow them when I borrowed the text book and i could not try them out. No regrets there, though, as I still find my own language acquisition method to be effective.

Level

According to the creators of Stein på stein, this course brought me to B1 level. I suspect it might be B1+ or low B2, however, as my French is B1 (officially tested) and nowhere near as good as my Norwegian. I am not planning on going through any more coursebooks for Norwegian, as my experience with Stein på stein has shown me that I have learned the essential grammar. I felt comfortable using Stein på stein, which did not contain any sections on grammar anyway.

Leave a Reply

